Jack Maddox Distinguished Lecture Series
Previous Speakers

< Back


Brad Meltzer
Award Winning Author
Spring 2016


Dr. Condoleezza Rice
Former Secretary of State
Fall 2015


Dr. Ben Carson
Award Winning Author
Spring 2015

Sam Abell
National Geographic Photographer
Fall 2014

Richard Florida
Best Selling Author
Spring 2014

Jeanette Walls
Best Selling Author
Fall 2013

General Colin Powell
Former Secretary of State
Spring 2013


Michael Beschloss
Presidential HistorianFall 2012 

Peyton Manning

NFL Four Time MVP
Spring 2012


Captain Chesley "Sully" Sullenberger

Pilot of the "Miracle on the Hudson"
Fall 2011


Laura Bush
Former First Lady
Spring 2011

  Jean Chatzky
Award-winning journalist, best-selling author
Fall 2010 

  Dr. Robert Ballard
Deep sea explorer
Spring 2010

  Jo Frost
Star of ABC's Supernanny and author
Fall 2009

  Jim Lehrer
Anchor and Executive Director of PBS' The News Hour with Jim Lehrer
Spring 2009

  Waddie Mitchell
Cowboy Poet
Fall 2008

  Tony Dungy
Head Coach 2007 Super Bowl Champions - Indianapolis Colts
Spring 2008

Tucker Carlson
Conservative political commentator
Paul Begala
Political analyst and former advisor to President Bill Clinton
Fall 2007

  Ben Stein
Award winning actor, economist, writer, and journalist
Fall 2006

Oliver North
Combat-decorated Marine, best-selling author, former U.S. Counter-Terrorism Coordinator
Fall 2005

Robert Gates
Former Director of the CIA
Fall 2004

Peter Hillary & Jamling Norgay
World-renowned adventurers and sons of Everest pioneers Sir Edmund Hillary & Tenzing Norgay
Spring 2004

P.J. O'Rourke
Best-selling author and political satirist
Fall 2003

Lynn Swann
Former Pittsburgh Steeler and Football Hall of Fame legend
Spring 2003

Marvin Hamilisch
Oscar-winning composer of film, theatre, and popular music
Fall 2002

Mark Victor Hansen
Co-creator, Chicken Soup for the Soul
Spring 2002

David Halberstam
Journalist, Author, Historian
Fall 2002

David McCullough
Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and author
Spring 2001

Alan Page
Minnesota Supreme Court Justice and Pro Football Hall of Fame member
Fall 2000

John Naisbitt
Best-selling author
Spring 2000

Catherine Crier
American television personality and former district court judge
Fall 1999

Dave Barry
Humor columnist
Spring 1999

Linda Wertheimer
American radio journalist for NPR
Fall 1998

Robert Fulghum
Author of All I Really Needed to Know I Learned in Kindergarten
Fall 1997

John Rosemond
Psychologist, parenting expert
Spring 1997

Mark Russell
Political satirist
Fall 1996

Walter Williams
Columnist, Author
Spring 1996

James Lovell
NASA astronaut, Commander of Apollo 13 mission
Fall 1995

John Silber
American academic and politican
Spring 1995

Thomas Sowell
American economist, social theorist, political philosopher, and author
Fall 1994

Jim Tunney
Former NFL referee
Spring 1994

Sally Ride
NASA astronaut, first American woman to orbit the Earth
Fall 1993

Edwin Newman
Newscaster, Journalist, Author
Spring 1993

Arthur Schlesinger
Pulitzer Prize-winning historian
Fall 1992

William Buckley
American conservative author and commentator
Spring 1992

Joe Clark
Subject of the 1989 film Lean on Me
Fall 1991

Thomas Sowell
American economist, social theorist, political philosopher, and author
Spring 1991

Art Linkletter
Radio and television personality
Spring 1989